Current affairs
Static GK

May – 2019





The Omani writer and academic who has been chosen for the​​ Man Booker International Prize 2019 for her book Celestial Bodies – Jokha al-Harthi



The former Chairman of​​ Indian Space​​ Research Organisation​​ who has been conferred France's highest civilian award Chevalier of the Order of the Legion of Honour​​ – Dr. AS Kiran Kumar



The new​​ Chief of Staffs Committee​​ who has taken over from Admiral Sunil Lamba, Chief of Naval Staff –​​ Air Chief Marshall BS Dhanoa

The Singapore India Maritime Bilateral Exercise held from 16 to 22 May 2019 at Singapore –​​ SIMBEX 2019

The​​ tri-services joint military exercise​​ conducted by the armed forces of India in Teressa Island in the Andamans was named​​ –​​ Bull Strike

The High-speed Expendable Aerial Target (HEAT) drone which was successfully tested from Interim Test Range (ITR) in Odisha’s Chandipur – Abhyas

The type of helicopter, the first of which was handed over to the Indian Air Force at​​ Boeing's production facility in Mesa, Arizona, USA –​​ Apache Guardian AH-64E(I)


Image result for apache guardian helicopters


The Indian Army General known for his role in Pakistan's surrender who has been honoured by Israel with a plaque on the​​ Wall of Honour at Ammunition Hill in Jerusalem – Lt Gen​​ JFR Jacob

The first part of​​ Indo-French bilateral naval exercise​​ conducted from 01 to 10 May off the coast of Goa was named (2nd part is scheduled at the end of May in Djibouti) –​​ Varuna 19.1



The stunt and action choreographer of bollywood who passed away on 27 May 2019 – Veeru Devgan

The​​ Nepali climber who has beaten his own record of conquering Mt. Everest​​ by doing it for the 23rd time and again by doing it for the 24th​​ time in May 2019 –​​ Kami Rita Sherpa



The venue of 2-day​​ meeting of​​ Shanghai Cooperation Organisation​​ held from May 21 to 22 and attended by India's external affairs minister Ms. Sushma Swaraj –​​ Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic

The Asian country which has become the​​ first in the continent to legalise same-sex marriage –​​ Taiwan


The state which has for the first time inducted women commandos named​​ Danteshwari Ladake in its front- line anti-Maoist force – Chhattisgarh



The well-known American golfer who has been awarded America's highest civilian award,​​ the​​ Medal of Freedom​​ by the US President Donald Trump –​​ Tiger​​ Woods

Image result for tiger woods

The All India Football Federation president who has become the first Indian to be elected as the member of FIFA Executive Council for a period of 4 years​​ – Praful​​ Patel

The Sri Lankan cricketer who has become the first non-British person to be appointed the President of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) for a period of 1 year from 01 Oct 2019​​ – Kumar Sangakkara


The theme of United Nations Global Road Safety Week observed from 06 to 12 May​​ 2019 – Leadership for Road Safety

The theme of​​ the International Labour Day observed on 01 May 2019​​ –​​ Sustainable Pension for All: The Role of Social Partners



The institute which has developed a​​ microprocessor named AJIT,​​ conceptualised, designed, developed and manufactured in India. – IIT, Mumbai

The international software company which has unveiled the​​ World's 1st Election Software named ElectionGuard​​ that lets the voter track his vote till the end – Microsoft

The country​​ which has become the​​ first in the world to declare an environment and climate emergency​​ in its Parliament –​​ United​​ Kingdom

The new imperial era announced by Japan with​​ Emperor Naruhito taking over the throne from his father Emperor Akihito with effect from 01 May 2019 – Reiwa


Launch of RISAT-2B

Launch station: SHAR, Sriharikota

Launch vehicle: PSLV-C46

RISAT-2B is a​​ radar imaging earth observation satellite​​ weighing about 615 kg. The satellite is intended​​ to provide services in the field of Agriculture, Forestry and Disaster​​ Managemen


Important Dates



World Press Freedom Day: 03 May 2019

​​ Designated by: UN General Assembly First Observed in: 1994

Theme: Media for Democracy: Journalism and Elections in the Times of Disinformation

World Asthma Day: 07​​ May 2019​​ (1st Tuesday of May)

Designated by: Global Initiative for Asthma

Theme: STOP for Asthma First observed in: 1998

World Migratory Bird Day: 11 May 2019

​​ Designated by: AEWA Secretariat

First Observed in: 2006

Theme: Protect Birds: Be the Solution to Plastic Pollution

Note: International Migratory Bird Day started in 1993 is observed in Canada, Mexico, US and Central America.

International Day for Biological Diversity: 22 May 2019​​ 
Designated by: UN General Assembly

Theme: Our​​ Biodiversity, Our Food, Our Health First Observed in: 2001

International Day for UN Peacekeepers: 29 May 2019​​ 

Designated by: United Nations General Assembly

First Observed in: 2003

Theme: Protecting Civlians Protecting Peace

World No Tobacco Day: 31​​ May 2019​​ 

Designated by: World Health Organisation First Observed in: 1987

Theme: Tobacco and Lung Health


Indian Premier League 2019

Winners: Mumbai Indians

​​ Leading run scorer (Orange Cap): David Warner (SRH)

Leading wicket taker (Purple Cap):​​ Imran Tahir (CSK) Emerging Player of the tournament: Shubman Gill (KKR) IPL Fairplay Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Final match played at: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

Number of times Mumbai Indians has won the trophy: 4 times (2013, 2013, 2017 and 2019)


CEAT Cricket Awards 2019

CEAT International Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

CEAT International Batsman of the Year: Virat Kohli

CEAT International Bowler of the Year: Jasprit Bumrah

CEAT International Test Cricketer of the Year: Cheteshwar Pujara

CEAT International ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit SharmaCEAT International T20 Player of the Year: Aaron Finch CEAT Outstanding Performance of the Year: Kuldeep Yadav CEAT T20 Bowler of the Year: Rashid Khan

CEAT Domestic Player of The​​ Year: Ashutosh Aman

International Woman Cricketer of the Year: Smriti Mandhana


New Chief Ministers

Sikkim: Prem Singh Golay

Andhra Pradesh: Jagan Mohan Reddy

Odisha: Naveenn Patnaik (5th​​ consecutive term) Arunachal Pradesh: Pema Khandu


2019 Cannes​​ Film Festival